Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

Fricke, Stauffer named all-conference

Brandon Fricke (left) and Lucas Stauffer (right) represent the Menace on the 2017 PDL All-Central Conference Team. Photos by Joe Sprunger


WEST DES MOINES, Iowa – Thursday, July 27, 2017 – For the second straight year, a Des Moines Menace defensive duo has earned all-conference status.

Brandon Fricke and Lucas Stauffer are on the Premier Development League’s 2017 All-Central Conference Team, announced yesterday by league officials.

They follow in the footsteps of goalkeeper Nico Campbell and center-back Austin Ledbetter who were part of the conference’s 2016 squad.

After playing 2015 and 2016 in the professional ranks, Fricke returned for his sixth season with the Menace. The Grimes native and Butler graduate was also a part of the 2013 all-league and all-conference teams.

Stauffer, from Owensboro, Ky., returned to the Menace after joining the team late in the 2016 season. He is heading into his senior year at Creighton.

Fricke captained the Menace, playing 790 minutes in 10 regular-season matches; Stauffer logged 791 minutes in 11 matches. They led a Menace defense that conceded 12 goals and claimed four shutouts.

The Menace went 7-5-2 to make the franchise’s fourth straight – and 15th overall – appearance in the PDL playoffs.


A representative from each team voted on the postseason honors, which are based on regular-season performance. Teams are allowed to vote only on players within their respective divisions.

Joining Fricke and Stauffer on the all-conference team are five players from the Heartland Division: Saint Louis FC U23’s Samuel Gainford, Thunder Bay’s Mitchell Osmund and Abraham Villon, and Chicago FC United’s Ryan Sierakowski and Chris Mueller, who played for the 2016 Menace.

The Great Lakes Division has four players on this team: Dayton’s Michael Yantz and Amass Amankona, and Michigan’s Nick Walker and Francis Atuahene.


2017 PDL All-Central Conference Team
GK – Michael Yantz, Dayton Dutch Lions
D – Mitchell Osmund, Thunder Bay Chill
D – Nick Walker, Michigan Bucks
D – Lucas Stauffer, Des Moines Menace
D – Brandon Fricke, Des Moines Menace
M – Abraham Villon, Thunder Bay Chill
M – Amass Amankona, Dayton Dutch Lions
M – Chris Mueller, Chicago FC United
F – Ryan Sierakowski, Chicago FC United
F – Samuel Gainford, Saint Louis FC U23
F – Francis Atuahene, Michigan Bucks



ABOUT THE MENACE: The Des Moines Menace provides the highest level of soccer in Iowa. Planning for its 25th season, Menace men’s team competes in the Premier Development League (PDL). The Menace women’s team is part of the Women’s Premier Soccer League (WPSL). With loyal support, the Menace men’s and women’s teams play their home games at the Valley Stadium in West Des Moines to provide family-fun entertainment. The Menace organization provides the growth of the game of soccer in Iowa with their youth soccer programs, including Junior Menace (ages 3-9), Menace Youth Academy (ages six and older), and tournaments, camps and clinics.

Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month