Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

2012 Honor Roll: Menace Women

Iowa State's Jenny Dominguez led the Big 12 with 14 goals, after pacing the Menace with seven goals last summer.
WEST DES MOINES, Iowa – Wednesday, Dec. 12, 2012 – A successful 2012 college season followed a championship season for several members of the inaugural Des Moines Menace women’s team.
Iowa State’s Jenny Dominguez headlines the list. The points leader for the 2012 Women’s League Soccer champion Menace, Dominguez continued her scoring tirade with the Cyclones, delivering a Big 12-leading 14 goals (20th nationally). The junior’s highest honors came from College Sports Madness, which named her the conference’s offensive player of the year and placed Dominguez on the all-America second team.
Dominguez is one of 14 Menace WLS alums who received 2012 postseason honors.
Next week, we will announce the 2012 honor roll for the Menace’s Premier Development League alumni.

Congratulations to these honorees:
NCAA Division-I all-America second team: Jenny Dominguez
NCAA Division-I all-West Region third team: Whitney Sharpe, Loyola Marymount

All-Conference, NCAA Division I
Big 12 Conference offensive player of the year: Dominguez
Missouri Valley Conference second team: Kalena Litch, Drake
West Coast Conference second team: Sharpe

All-Conference, NCAA Division II
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference second team: Catherine Bunting, Upper Iowa
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference third team: Kelsey Taldone, Upper Iowa
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference honorable mention: Kali Loescher, Upper Iowa
Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association honorable mention: Tori Von Mende, Northwest Missouri State
All-Conference, NAIA
Midwest Collegiate Conference honorable mention: Carlan Samuelson, AIB College of Business
Missouri Valley Conference all-tournament team: Litch
Northern Sun all-tournament team: Loesher
Northern Sun all-tournament team: Taldone
Academic All-Big 12 first team: Jessica Stewart, Iowa State
Academic All-Big 12 first team: Andrea Swanson, Iowa State
Academic All-Big 12 second team: Emily Goldstein, Iowa State
Academic all-Big 12 second team: Alyssa Williamson, Iowa State
Northern Sun all-academic team: Bunting, Upper Iowa
Northern Sun all-academic team: Loescher, Upper Iowa
Northern Sun all-academic team: Amanda Millard, Upper Iowa
Northern Sun all-academic team: Jill Schechinger, Upper Iowa
Northern Sun all-academic team: Taldone, Upper Iowa

National-Tournament Qualifiers
First round, NAIA: Graceland  Shannon Scarlett – lost to Robert Morris (ll.), 4-0
ABOUT THE MENACE WOMEN: Under the direction of head coach Kevin Schalk, the reigning Women’s League Soccer champion Des Moines Menace provide the highest level of competition in Iowa. The Menace men and women play their home matches in a fun, family-friendly environment at Valley Stadium in West Des Moines. Their seasons start in May and end in July.

The Menace organization promotes healthy lifestyles through its popular youth programs, including the Menace Academy (select soccer for ages 9-19), camps, clinics and tournaments.


Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month