Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

Menace announces 2011 honor roll

Lebogang Moloto, shown with the 2011 Menace, was the MVP of the 2011 NAIA National Tournament. He scored the championship-clinching goal for Lindsey Wilson.
WEST DES MOINES, Iowa – Tuesday, Dec. 13, 2011 – The Des Moines Menace’s honor roll from the 2011 college season is a long and illustrious list. More than 30 Menace alumni earned postseason accolades, and two ended the season as national champions.
For the second time in three years, Samuel Asante and Lebogang Moloto guided Lindsey Wilson College (Ky.) to the NAIA championship. Moloto sealed the Blue Raiders’ ninth national title and a perfect season (23-0-0) on Dec. 3, scoring the golden goal in overtime of a 3-2 finals win over defending champion Hastings (Neb.).
A star for the Menace each of the past two PDL seasons, Moloto has an impressive collection of honors from 2011. He was named the Most Valuable Player of the NAIA National Tournament, and he is one of seven former Des Moines players who have earned all-America status this fall. The South African was also recognized as the tournament’s Champion of Character scholarship recipient, after receiving a similar honor for the Mid-South Conference.
Moloto, a three-time all-American, is also an NAIA scholar-athlete – and one of a dozen Menace alumni to be recognized for their classroom performance. Most notably, Drake’s Matt Kuhn, a member of the 2010 Menace, was named to the NCAA Division-I academic all-America first team.
Unless noted otherwise, the student-athletes on this list played for the Menace’s PDL side in 2011.

Congratulations to these honorees:

Major League Soccer Combine Invitees
Andrew Duran, Creighton
Jhojan Obando, Providence
Lance Rozeboom (2007-09 PDL), New Mexico

NAIA all-America first team: Deshorn Brown, Mobile (Ala.)
NAIA all-America first team: Lebogang Moloto, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
NCAA Division-I all-America second team: Duran
NCAA Division-I all-America second team: Rozeboom
NAIA all-America second team: Stephen Okai (2010 PDL), Mobile
NAIA all-America second team: Luis Piffer, Grand View (Iowa)
NAIA all-America honorable mention: Jonny Macadam, Grand View
NCAA Division-I all-Midwest Region first team: Duran 
NCAA Division-I all-Far West Region first team: Rozeboom
NCAA Division-I all-Midwest Region second team: Charlie Bales, Western Illinois
NCAA Division-I all-Midwest Region second team: Matt Kuhn (2010 PDL), Drake
NCAA Division-I all-Great Lakes Region second team: Francis Otira, Northern Illinois
NCAA Division-I all-Midwest Region third team: Alexis Dominguez, Western Illinois
NCAA Division-I all-Midwest Region third team: 
Jarrett Hamilton, Oral Roberts
NCAA Division-I all-Midwest Region third team: Thomas Ostrander (2009 PDL), Drake
NCAA Division-I all-South Region third team: Cristian Raudales (2009 PDL), Florida Gulf Coast
NCAA Division-I all-Great Lakes Region third team: Kyle Zobeck (2009 PDL), Valparaiso
NJCAA all-Region XI: Adis Mujic (Menace Academy), Iowa Central Community College

All-Conference, NCAA Division I
Summit League defender of the year: Bales 
Missouri Valley Conference defender of the year: Duran
West Coast Conference goalkeeper of the year: Brendan Roslund, San Francisco
Horizon League goalkeeper of the year: Zobeck
Missouri Valley Conference first team: Kuhn
Summit League first team: Dominguez
Summit League first team: Hamilton
Mid-America Conference first team: Otira
Atlantic Sun Conference first team: Raudales
Mountain Pacific Sports Federation first team: Rozeboom
Summit League second team: Husref Jupic, Western Illinois
Missouri Valley Conference second team: Hunter Kennedy (2009-10 PDL), Drake
Missouri Valley Conference second team: Ostrander
Atlantic 10 second team: Jack Pearson (2009-10 PDL), Dayton

Missouri Valley Conference honorable mention:
 Jordan Kadlec (2008-09 PDL), Drake
Missouri Valley Conference honorable mention: Gerard Barbero, Missouri State
West Coast Conference honorable mention: Logan McDaniel (2010 Menace), Loyola Marymount 
Mountain Pacific Sports Federation honorable mention: Eric Shannon, Cal State Bakersfield 

All-Conference, NCAA Division III
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference honorable mention: KJ McQuerrey (Menace Academy), Central
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference honorable mention: Leland Schipper (Menace Academy), Central

All-Conference, NAIA
Southern States Athletic Conference Player of the Year: Brown
Midwest Collegiate Conference Player of the Year: Piffer
Mid-South Conference first team:  Samuel Asante (2009 PDL), Lindsey Wilson
Midwest Collegiate Conference first team:  Macadam
Mid-South Conference first team:  Moloto
Southern States Athletic Conference first team: Okai
Heart of America Athletic Conference second team: Brady Blankenship, Graceland (Iowa)
Midwest Collegiate Conference honorable mention: Wes Dawson (Menace Academy), Grand View

West Coast Conference all-freshman team: Brian Visser, San Francisco

NCAA Division-I academic all-America first team (Capital One) and second team (NSCAA): Kuhn
NCAA Division-I academic all-America third team (NSCAA): Ostrander
NCAA Division-III academic all-district second team:
Neil Shields (Menace Academy), Wartburg
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Academic All-Conference: Bryan Michelsen (Menace Academy), Simpson
NAIA scholar-athlete: Nik Chamberlin (2009 PDL), Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)
NAIA scholar-athlete: Blankenship
NAIA scholar-athlete: Asante
NAIA scholar-athlete: Moloto
Missouri Valley Conference Scholar Athlete first team: Kuhn
Missouri Valley Conference Scholar Athlete first team: Ostrander
Missouri Valley Conference Scholar Athlete honorable mention: Kennedy
Mid-South Conference academic team: Asante 
Mid-South Conference academic team: Moloto 

NAIA Tournament MVP: Moloto
Summit League Tournament MVP: Bales
Missouri Valley Conference all-tournament team: Barbero
Missouri Valley Conference all-tournament team: Duran
Atlantic Sun all-tournament team: Scott Harrison (2009 PDL), Florida Gulf Coast
Missouri Valley Conference all-tournament team: Kadlec
Missouri Valley Conference all-tournament team: Kuhn
Mid-America Conference all-tournament team: Otira
Atlantic Sun all-tournament team: Raudales

National-Tournament Qualifiers
Champion, NAIA: Lindsey Wilson  Asante and Moloto – defeated Hastings (Neb.), 3-2 in overtime.
Final Four, NCAA Division I: Creighton  Duran and Jace Peters – lost to Charlotte, 0-0 (4-1 PKs).
Elite Eight, NAIA: Grand View  Piffer and Macadam; Justin Ellis, Noel Medina, Tyler Peeler and Sam Weeks (four Menace Academy alumni) – lost to Baker (Kan.), 3-1.
Sweet 16, NCAA Division I: New Mexico <span style="border-bottom: windowtext 1pt; border-left: windowtext 1pt; padding-bottom: 0in; padding-left: 0in; padding-right:

Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month